Licenses and Permits
What you must know before you go
Saltwater fishing licenses are sold online at License.MyFWC.com, at all county tax
collectors’ offices and at many license agents. Licenses may also be obtained over the
telephone by dialing toll-free, 1-888-FISH-FLORIDA (347-4356). An additional fee is
charged for telephone and Internet services. For any recreational licensing information not
contained in this publication, please go to MyFWC.com/License.
When applying for a saltwater recreational fishing license, you are considered to be a
Florida resident if you are:
•Any person who has resided in Florida for six continuous months prior to applying for a
resident license and who claims Florida as their primary residence.
•Any member of the U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed in this state and any family
members residing with them.
Gold sportsman’s license
•$100 (valid for one year). Includes:
— Hunting, Saltwater Fishing and Freshwater Fishing licenses
— Management Area, Archery, Crossbow, Muzzleloading Gun, Turkey, Florida Waterfowl,
Deer, Snook and Spiny Lobster permits
•Florida residents may buy a lifetime saltwater fishing license or a lifetime sportsman
license. Holders of lifetime saltwater fishing licenses may fish in saltwater for life and will
pay no additional fees. The lifetime license fee includes the taking of snook or spiny
lobster, which would otherwise require a separate fee. A lifetime sportsman license allows
holders to fish in freshwater or saltwater and to hunt in Florida. Both of the licenses require
holders to obey fishing or hunting laws in effect at any given time.
You do not need a license if you are:
•A resident who is saltwater fishing from land or a structure fixed to land who has been
determined eligible for the food stamp, temporary cash assistance, or Medicaid Program
by the Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS). Proof of identification and a
benefit issuance or program identification card issued by DCFS or the Agency for Health
Care Administration must be on your person when fishing.
•A child under 16 years of age.
•Any resident fishing for recreational purposes only, within her or his county of residence
with live or natural bait, using poles or lines not equipped with a fishing line retrieval
•Fishing from a for-hire vessel—guide, charter, party boat—that has a valid charter boat
license or charter captain license.
•A holder of a valid saltwater products license.
•A Florida resident 65 years of age or older and you possess proof of age and residency,
such as a Florida driver’s license or ID, or an optional no-cost Resident Senior Citizen
Hunting and Fishing Certificate.
•A Florida resident who is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, who is not stationed in this
state, while on leave for 30 days or less, upon submission of orders. This does not include
•Any person who has been accepted as a client for developmental services by the
Department of Children and Family Services, provided the department furnishes proof
•Fishing for recreational purposes from a pier that has a valid pier saltwater fishing license.
•Fishing from a boat that has a valid recreational vessel fishing license.
•A Florida resident who is fishing for mullet in freshwater with a valid Florida freshwater
•A Florida resident who possesses a no-cost Florida Resident Disabled Person Hunting
and Fishing Certificate. In order to qualify for this, applicants must provide a certification of
total and permanent disability from the United States Armed Forces, Railroad Retirement
Board, Florida Worker’s Compensation or the United States Veterans Administration.
Alternatively, current documentation from the Social Security Administration for
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or Supplemental Security Disability Income (SSDI)
benefits also will be accepted.
Other saltwater fishing fees
Licenses (Charter Boat or Charter Captain)
are required for all vessels that charge a fee (for-hire vessels) to take passengers out to
catch marine fish.
•Eleven or more customers $801.50
•Five to ten customers $401.50
•Four or fewer customers $201.50
Optional fees include the annual Recreational Vessel fee ($2,001.50) for not-for-hire
pleasure craft and the annual Pier license ($501.50). For charter licensing information,
contact your local county tax collector’s office or visit MyFWC.com.
Florida Keys Sportfishing Information : Florida Keys Fishing Charters : Florida Keys Flats Fishing : Florida Keys Offshore Fishing : Florida Keys Wreck Fishing :
Florida Keys Reef Fishing : Florida Keys Bonefishing : Florida Keys Tarpon Fishing : Florida Keys Bait & Tackle Shops : Florida Keys Marinas : Florida Keys Boat Rentals :
Florida Keys Fishing Tournaments : Florida Keys Fishing Articles : Upper Florida Keys Fishing : Middle Florida Keys Fishing : Lower Florida Keys Fishing
|More helpful Florida Keys and Key West websites:
www.flkeys-diving.com | www.thefloridakeys-keywest.com | www.flkeysgc.com